• Hugh Dickins's avatar
    mm: follow_hugetlb_page flags · 2a15efc9
    Hugh Dickins authored
    
    
    follow_hugetlb_page() shouldn't be guessing about the coredump case
    either: pass the foll_flags down to it, instead of just the write bit.
    
    Remove that obscure huge_zeropage_ok() test.  The decision is easy,
    though unlike the non-huge case - here vm_ops->fault is always set.
    But we know that a fault would serve up zeroes, unless there's
    already a hugetlbfs pagecache page to back the range.
    
    (Alternatively, since hugetlb pages aren't swapped out under pressure,
    you could save more dump space by arguing that a page not yet faulted
    into this process cannot be relevant to the dump; but that would be
    more surprising.)
    Signed-off-by: default avatarHugh Dickins <hugh.dickins@tiscali.co.uk>
    Acked-by: default avatarRik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
    Cc: KAMEZAWA Hiroyuki <kamezawa.hiroyu@jp.fujitsu.com>
    Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
    Cc: Nick Piggin <npiggin@suse.de>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mel@csn.ul.ie>
    Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan.kim@gmail.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    2a15efc9
hugetlb.h 8.38 KB