• Ira Weiny's avatar
    mm/gup: change GUP fast to use flags rather than a write 'bool' · 73b0140b
    Ira Weiny authored
    To facilitate additional options to get_user_pages_fast() change the
    singular write parameter to be gup_flags.
    
    This patch does not change any functionality.  New functionality will
    follow in subsequent patches.
    
    Some of the get_user_pages_fast() call sites were unchanged because they
    already passed FOLL_WRITE or 0 for the write parameter.
    
    NOTE: It was suggested to change the ordering of the get_user_pages_fast()
    arguments to ensure that callers were converted.  This breaks the current
    GUP call site convention of having the returned pages be the final
    parameter.  So the suggestion was rejected.
    
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190328084422.29911-4-ira.weiny@intel.com
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190317183438.2057-4-ira.weiny@intel.com
    
    Signed-off-by: default avatarIra Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>
    Reviewed-by: default avatarMike Marshall <hubcap@omnibond.com>
    Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
    Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
    Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
    Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
    Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
    Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
    Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
    Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
    Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
    Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
    Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
    Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
    Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
    Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    73b0140b
gup.c 7.9 KB