• Christoph Hellwig's avatar
    [PATCH] Add block_device_operations.getgeo block device method · a885c8c4
    Christoph Hellwig authored
    
    
    HDIO_GETGEO is implemented in most block drivers, and all of them have to
    duplicate the code to copy the structure to userspace, as well as getting
    the start sector.  This patch moves that to common code [1] and adds a
    ->getgeo method to fill out the raw kernel hd_geometry structure.  For many
    drivers this means ->ioctl can go away now.
    
    [1] the s390 block drivers are odd in this respect.  xpram sets ->start
        to 4 always which seems more than odd, and the dasd driver shifts
        the start offset around, probably because of it's non-standard
        sector size.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
    Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@suse.de>
    Cc: <mike.miller@hp.com>
    Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
    Cc: Paolo Giarrusso <blaisorblade@yahoo.it>
    Cc: Bartlomiej Zolnierkiewicz <B.Zolnierkiewicz@elka.pw.edu.pl>
    Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@cse.unsw.edu.au>
    Cc: Markus Lidel <Markus.Lidel@shadowconnect.com>
    Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
    Cc: David Woodhouse <dwmw2@infradead.org>
    Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAdrian Bunk <bunk@stusta.de>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@osdl.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@osdl.org>
    a885c8c4
ioctl.c 7.09 KB