• Minchan Kim's avatar
    mm: fix KSM data corruption · b3a81d08
    Minchan Kim authored
    Nadav reported KSM can corrupt the user data by the TLB batching
    race[1].  That means data user written can be lost.
    
    Quote from Nadav Amit:
     "For this race we need 4 CPUs:
    
      CPU0: Caches a writable and dirty PTE entry, and uses the stale value
      for write later.
    
      CPU1: Runs madvise_free on the range that includes the PTE. It would
      clear the dirty-bit. It batches TLB flushes.
    
      CPU2: Writes 4 to /proc/PID/clear_refs , clearing the PTEs soft-dirty.
      We care about the fact that it clears the PTE write-bit, and of
      course, batches TLB flushes.
    
      CPU3: Runs KSM. Our purpose is to pass the following test in
      write_protect_page():
    
    	if (pte_write(*pvmw.pte) || pte_dirty(*pvmw.pte) ||
    	    (pte_protnone(*pvmw.pte) && pte_savedwrite(*pvmw.pte)))
    
      Since it will avoid TLB flush. And we want to do it while the PTE is
      stale. Later, and before replacing the page, we would be able to
      change the page.
    
      Note that all the operations the CPU1-3 perform canhappen in parallel
      since they only acquire mmap_sem for read.
    
      We start with two identical pages. Everything below regards the same
      page/PTE.
    
      CPU0        CPU1        CPU2        CPU3
      ----        ----        ----        ----
      Write the same
      value on page
    
      [cache PTE as
       dirty in TLB]
    
                  MADV_FREE
                  pte_mkclean()
    
                              4 > clear_refs
                              pte_wrprotect()
    
                                          write_protect_page()
                                          [ success, no flush ]
    
                                          pages_indentical()
                                          [ ok ]
    
      Write to page
      different value
    
      [Ok, using stale
       PTE]
    
                                          replace_page()
    
      Later, CPU1, CPU2 and CPU3 would flush the TLB, but that is too late.
      CPU0 already wrote on the page, but KSM ignored this write, and it got
      lost"
    
    In above scenario, MADV_FREE is fixed by changing TLB batching API
    including [set|clear]_tlb_flush_pending.  Remained thing is soft-dirty
    part.
    
    This patch changes soft-dirty uses TLB batching API instead of
    flush_tlb_mm and KSM checks pending TLB flush by using
    mm_tlb_flush_pending so that it will flush TLB to avoid data lost if
    there are other parallel threads pending TLB flush.
    
    [1] http://lkml.kernel.org/r/BD3A0EBE-ECF4-41D4-87FA-C755EA9AB6BD@gmail.com
    
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170802000818.4760-8-namit@vmware.com
    
    Signed-off-by: default avatarMinchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarNadav Amit <namit@vmware.com>
    Reported-by: default avatarNadav Amit <namit@vmware.com>
    Tested-by: default avatarNadav Amit <namit@vmware.com>
    Reviewed-by: default avatarAndrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
    Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
    Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
    Cc: Andy Lutomirski <luto@kernel.org>
    Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
    Cc: Jeff Dike <jdike@addtoit.com>
    Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
    Cc: Nadav Amit <nadav.amit@gmail.com>
    Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
    Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
    Cc: Sergey Senozhatsky <sergey.senozhatsky@gmail.com>
    Cc: Tony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
    Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    b3a81d08
task_mmu.c 41.9 KB