• Huang Ying's avatar
    mm: fix races between swapoff and flush dcache · cb9f753a
    Huang Ying authored
    Thanks to commit 4b3ef9da ("mm/swap: split swap cache into 64MB
    trunks"), after swapoff the address_space associated with the swap
    device will be freed.  So page_mapping() users which may touch the
    address_space need some kind of mechanism to prevent the address_space
    from being freed during accessing.
    
    The dcache flushing functions (flush_dcache_page(), etc) in architecture
    specific code may access the address_space of swap device for anonymous
    pages in swap cache via page_mapping() function.  But in some cases
    there are no mechanisms to prevent the swap device from being swapoff,
    for example,
    
      CPU1					CPU2
      __get_user_pages()			swapoff()
        flush_dcache_page()
          mapping = page_mapping()
            ...				  exit_swap_address_space()
            ...				    kvfree(spaces)
            mapping_mapped(mapping)
    
    The address space may be accessed after being freed.
    
    But from cachetlb.txt and Russell King, flush_dcache_page() only care
    about file cache pages, for anonymous pages, flush_anon_page() should be
    used.  The implementation of flush_dcache_page() in all architectures
    follows this too.  They will check whether page_mapping() is NULL and
    whether mapping_mapped() is true to determine whether to flush the
    dcache immediately.  And they will use interval tree (mapping->i_mmap)
    to find all user space mappings.  While mapping_mapped() and
    mapping->i_mmap isn't used by anonymous pages in swap cache at all.
    
    So, to fix the race between swapoff and flush dcache, __page_mapping()
    is add to return the address_space for file cache pages and NULL
    otherwise.  All page_mapping() invoking in flush dcache functions are
    replaced with page_mapping_file().
    
    [akpm@linux-foundation.org: simplify page_mapping_file(), per Mike]
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20180305083634.15174-1-ying.huang@intel.com
    
    Signed-off-by: default avatar"Huang, Ying" <ying.huang@intel.com>
    Reviewed-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Cc: Minchan Kim <minchan@kernel.org>
    Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
    Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@techsingularity.net>
    Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
    Cc: Chen Liqin <liqin.linux@gmail.com>
    Cc: Russell King <linux@armlinux.org.uk>
    Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
    Cc: "James E.J. Bottomley" <jejb@parisc-linux.org>
    Cc: Guan Xuetao <gxt@mprc.pku.edu.cn>
    Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
    Cc: Chris Zankel <chris@zankel.net>
    Cc: Vineet Gupta <vgupta@synopsys.com>
    Cc: Ley Foon Tan <lftan@altera.com>
    Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
    Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    cb9f753a
util.c 19 KB