Commit 19fed0da authored by John Hubbard's avatar John Hubbard Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

vfio, mm: pin_user_pages (FOLL_PIN) and put_user_page() conversion

1. Change vfio from get_user_pages_remote(), to
   pin_user_pages_remote().

2. Because all FOLL_PIN-acquired pages must be released via
   put_user_page(), also convert the put_page() call over to
   put_user_pages_dirty_lock().

Note that this effectively changes the code's behavior in
vfio_iommu_type1.c: put_pfn(): it now ultimately calls
set_page_dirty_lock(), instead of set_page_dirty().  This is probably
more accurate.

As Christoph Hellwig put it, "set_page_dirty() is only safe if we are
dealing with a file backed page where we have reference on the inode it
hangs off." [1]

[1] https://lore.kernel.org/r/20190723153640.GB720@lst.de

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200107224558.2362728-20-jhubbard@nvidia.com

Signed-off-by: default avatarJohn Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Tested-by: default avatarAlex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarAlex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Björn Töpel <bjorn.topel@intel.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl>
Cc: Ira Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@mellanox.com>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 1f815afc
......@@ -309,9 +309,8 @@ static int put_pfn(unsigned long pfn, int prot)
{
if (!is_invalid_reserved_pfn(pfn)) {
struct page *page = pfn_to_page(pfn);
if (prot & IOMMU_WRITE)
SetPageDirty(page);
put_page(page);
put_user_pages_dirty_lock(&page, 1, prot & IOMMU_WRITE);
return 1;
}
return 0;
......@@ -329,7 +328,7 @@ static int vaddr_get_pfn(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long vaddr,
flags |= FOLL_WRITE;
down_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
ret = get_user_pages_remote(NULL, mm, vaddr, 1, flags | FOLL_LONGTERM,
ret = pin_user_pages_remote(NULL, mm, vaddr, 1, flags | FOLL_LONGTERM,
page, NULL, NULL);
if (ret == 1) {
*pfn = page_to_pfn(page[0]);
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment