Commit 3964acd0 authored by Oleg Nesterov's avatar Oleg Nesterov Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm: mempolicy: fix mbind_range() && vma_adjust() interaction

vma_adjust() does vma_set_policy(vma, vma_policy(next)) and this
is doubly wrong:

1. This leaks vma->vm_policy if it is not NULL and not equal to
   next->vm_policy.

   This can happen if vma_merge() expands "area", not prev (case 8).

2. This sets the wrong policy if vma_merge() joins prev and area,
   area is the vma the caller needs to update and it still has the
   old policy.

Revert commit 1444f92c

 ("mm: merging memory blocks resets
mempolicy") which introduced these problems.

Change mbind_range() to recheck mpol_equal() after vma_merge() to fix
the problem that commit tried to address.
Signed-off-by: default avatarOleg Nesterov <oleg@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarKOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Steven T Hampson <steven.t.hampson@intel.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Andi Kleen <andi@firstfloor.org>
Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 36f571e9
......@@ -732,7 +732,10 @@ static int mbind_range(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long start,
if (prev) {
vma = prev;
next = vma->vm_next;
continue;
if (mpol_equal(vma_policy(vma), new_pol))
continue;
/* vma_merge() joined vma && vma->next, case 8 */
goto replace;
}
if (vma->vm_start != vmstart) {
err = split_vma(vma->vm_mm, vma, vmstart, 1);
......@@ -744,6 +747,7 @@ static int mbind_range(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long start,
if (err)
goto out;
}
replace:
err = vma_replace_policy(vma, new_pol);
if (err)
goto out;
......
......@@ -865,7 +865,7 @@ again: remove_next = 1 + (end > next->vm_end);
if (next->anon_vma)
anon_vma_merge(vma, next);
mm->map_count--;
vma_set_policy(vma, vma_policy(next));
mpol_put(vma_policy(next));
kmem_cache_free(vm_area_cachep, next);
/*
* In mprotect's case 6 (see comments on vma_merge),
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment