Commit 6742d293 authored by Kirill A. Shutemov's avatar Kirill A. Shutemov Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm: adjust FOLL_SPLIT for new refcounting



We need to prepare kernel to allow transhuge pages to be mapped with
ptes too.  We need to handle FOLL_SPLIT in follow_page_pte().

Also we use split_huge_page() directly instead of split_huge_page_pmd().
split_huge_page_pmd() will gone.
Signed-off-by: default avatarKirill A. Shutemov <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Tested-by: default avatarSasha Levin <sasha.levin@oracle.com>
Tested-by: default avatarAneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Acked-by: default avatarVlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Acked-by: default avatarJerome Marchand <jmarchan@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@intel.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: Steve Capper <steve.capper@linaro.org>
Cc: Johannes Weiner <hannes@cmpxchg.org>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 1f25fe20
......@@ -116,6 +116,19 @@ static struct page *follow_page_pte(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
}
}
if (flags & FOLL_SPLIT && PageTransCompound(page)) {
int ret;
get_page(page);
pte_unmap_unlock(ptep, ptl);
lock_page(page);
ret = split_huge_page(page);
unlock_page(page);
put_page(page);
if (ret)
return ERR_PTR(ret);
goto retry;
}
if (flags & FOLL_GET)
get_page_foll(page);
if (flags & FOLL_TOUCH) {
......@@ -220,27 +233,45 @@ struct page *follow_page_mask(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
}
if ((flags & FOLL_NUMA) && pmd_protnone(*pmd))
return no_page_table(vma, flags);
if (pmd_trans_huge(*pmd)) {
if (flags & FOLL_SPLIT) {
if (likely(!pmd_trans_huge(*pmd)))
return follow_page_pte(vma, address, pmd, flags);
ptl = pmd_lock(mm, pmd);
if (unlikely(!pmd_trans_huge(*pmd))) {
spin_unlock(ptl);
return follow_page_pte(vma, address, pmd, flags);
}
if (unlikely(pmd_trans_splitting(*pmd))) {
spin_unlock(ptl);
wait_split_huge_page(vma->anon_vma, pmd);
return follow_page_pte(vma, address, pmd, flags);
}
if (flags & FOLL_SPLIT) {
int ret;
page = pmd_page(*pmd);
if (is_huge_zero_page(page)) {
spin_unlock(ptl);
ret = 0;
split_huge_page_pmd(vma, address, pmd);
return follow_page_pte(vma, address, pmd, flags);
}
ptl = pmd_lock(mm, pmd);
if (likely(pmd_trans_huge(*pmd))) {
if (unlikely(pmd_trans_splitting(*pmd))) {
spin_unlock(ptl);
wait_split_huge_page(vma->anon_vma, pmd);
} else {
page = follow_trans_huge_pmd(vma, address,
pmd, flags);
spin_unlock(ptl);
*page_mask = HPAGE_PMD_NR - 1;
return page;
}
} else
} else {
get_page(page);
spin_unlock(ptl);
lock_page(page);
ret = split_huge_page(page);
unlock_page(page);
put_page(page);
}
return ret ? ERR_PTR(ret) :
follow_page_pte(vma, address, pmd, flags);
}
return follow_page_pte(vma, address, pmd, flags);
page = follow_trans_huge_pmd(vma, address, pmd, flags);
spin_unlock(ptl);
*page_mask = HPAGE_PMD_NR - 1;
return page;
}
static int get_gate_page(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long address,
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment