Commit 6c8fcc09 authored by Daniel Vetter's avatar Daniel Vetter Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm: don't let userspace spam allocations warnings

memdump_user usually gets fed unchecked userspace input.  Blasting a
full backtrace into dmesg every time is a bit excessive - I'm not sure
on the kernel rule in general, but at least in drm we're trying not to
let unpriviledge userspace spam the logs freely.  Definitely not entire
warning backtraces.

It also means more filtering for our CI, because our testsuite exercises
these corner cases and so hits these a lot.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190220204058.11676-1-daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch

Signed-off-by: default avatarDaniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@intel.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Acked-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarKees Cook <keescook@chromium.org>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Roman Gushchin <guro@fb.com>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Jan Stancek <jstancek@redhat.com>
Cc: Andrey Ryabinin <aryabinin@virtuozzo.com>
Cc: "Michael S. Tsirkin" <mst@redhat.com>
Cc: Huang Ying <ying.huang@intel.com>
Cc: Bartosz Golaszewski <brgl@bgdev.pl>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 6373dca1
......@@ -150,7 +150,7 @@ void *memdup_user(const void __user *src, size_t len)
{
void *p;
p = kmalloc_track_caller(len, GFP_USER);
p = kmalloc_track_caller(len, GFP_USER | __GFP_NOWARN);
if (!p)
return ERR_PTR(-ENOMEM);
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment