Commit 8b0662f2 authored by Michal Hocko's avatar Michal Hocko Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm, memory_hotplug: consider offline memblocks removable

is_pageblock_removable_nolock() relies on having zone association to
examine all the page blocks to check whether they are movable or free.
This is just wasting of cycles when the memblock is offline.  Later
patch in the series will also change the time when the page is
associated with a zone so we let's bail out early if the memblock is
offline.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170515085827.16474-7-mhocko@kernel.org

Signed-off-by: default avatarMichal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Reported-by: default avatarIgor Mammedov <imammedo@redhat.com>
Acked-by: default avatarVlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Andrea Arcangeli <aarcange@redhat.com>
Cc: Balbir Singh <bsingharora@gmail.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Daniel Kiper <daniel.kiper@oracle.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <js1304@gmail.com>
Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Reza Arbab <arbab@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Tobias Regnery <tobias.regnery@gmail.com>
Cc: Toshi Kani <toshi.kani@hpe.com>
Cc: Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>
Cc: Xishi Qiu <qiuxishi@huawei.com>
Cc: Yasuaki Ishimatsu <isimatu.yasuaki@jp.fujitsu.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 9037a993
......@@ -128,6 +128,9 @@ static ssize_t show_mem_removable(struct device *dev,
int ret = 1;
struct memory_block *mem = to_memory_block(dev);
if (mem->state != MEM_ONLINE)
goto out;
for (i = 0; i < sections_per_block; i++) {
if (!present_section_nr(mem->start_section_nr + i))
continue;
......@@ -135,6 +138,7 @@ static ssize_t show_mem_removable(struct device *dev,
ret &= is_mem_section_removable(pfn, PAGES_PER_SECTION);
}
out:
return sprintf(buf, "%d\n", ret);
}
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment