Commit a707cdd5 authored by John Hubbard's avatar John Hubbard Committed by Linus Torvalds

mm/gup: move try_get_compound_head() to top, fix minor issues

An upcoming patch uses try_get_compound_head() more widely, so move it to
the top of gup.c.

Also fix a tiny spelling error and a checkpatch.pl warning.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200107224558.2362728-3-jhubbard@nvidia.comSigned-off-by: default avatarJohn Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Reviewed-by: default avatarJan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Reviewed-by: default avatarIra Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>
Cc: Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Björn Töpel <bjorn.topel@intel.com>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@mellanox.com>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent a43e9820
......@@ -29,6 +29,21 @@ struct follow_page_context {
unsigned int page_mask;
};
/*
* Return the compound head page with ref appropriately incremented,
* or NULL if that failed.
*/
static inline struct page *try_get_compound_head(struct page *page, int refs)
{
struct page *head = compound_head(page);
if (WARN_ON_ONCE(page_ref_count(head) < 0))
return NULL;
if (unlikely(!page_cache_add_speculative(head, refs)))
return NULL;
return head;
}
/**
* put_user_pages_dirty_lock() - release and optionally dirty gup-pinned pages
* @pages: array of pages to be maybe marked dirty, and definitely released.
......@@ -1807,20 +1822,6 @@ static void __maybe_unused undo_dev_pagemap(int *nr, int nr_start,
}
}
/*
* Return the compund head page with ref appropriately incremented,
* or NULL if that failed.
*/
static inline struct page *try_get_compound_head(struct page *page, int refs)
{
struct page *head = compound_head(page);
if (WARN_ON_ONCE(page_ref_count(head) < 0))
return NULL;
if (unlikely(!page_cache_add_speculative(head, refs)))
return NULL;
return head;
}
#ifdef CONFIG_ARCH_HAS_PTE_SPECIAL
static int gup_pte_range(pmd_t pmd, unsigned long addr, unsigned long end,
unsigned int flags, struct page **pages, int *nr)
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment