Commit bdffe23e authored by John Hubbard's avatar John Hubbard Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm/gup_benchmark: use proper FOLL_WRITE flags instead of hard-coding "1"

Fix the gup benchmark flags to use the symbolic FOLL_WRITE, instead of a
hard-coded "1" value.

Also, clean up the filtering of gup flags a little, by just doing it
once before issuing any of the get_user_pages*() calls.  This makes it
harder to overlook, instead of having little "gup_flags & 1" phrases in
the function calls.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20200107224558.2362728-22-jhubbard@nvidia.com

Signed-off-by: default avatarJohn Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarIra Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>
Cc: Alex Williamson <alex.williamson@redhat.com>
Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
Cc: Björn Töpel <bjorn.topel@intel.com>
Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
Cc: Daniel Vetter <daniel.vetter@ffwll.ch>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Hans Verkuil <hverkuil-cisco@xs4all.nl>
Cc: Jan Kara <jack@suse.cz>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@mellanox.com>
Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
Cc: Jerome Glisse <jglisse@redhat.com>
Cc: Jonathan Corbet <corbet@lwn.net>
Cc: Kirill A. Shutemov <kirill@shutemov.name>
Cc: Leon Romanovsky <leonro@mellanox.com>
Cc: Mauro Carvalho Chehab <mchehab@kernel.org>
Cc: Mike Rapoport <rppt@linux.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent aa4b87fe
...@@ -49,18 +49,21 @@ static int __gup_benchmark_ioctl(unsigned int cmd, ...@@ -49,18 +49,21 @@ static int __gup_benchmark_ioctl(unsigned int cmd,
nr = (next - addr) / PAGE_SIZE; nr = (next - addr) / PAGE_SIZE;
} }
/* Filter out most gup flags: only allow a tiny subset here: */
gup->flags &= FOLL_WRITE;
switch (cmd) { switch (cmd) {
case GUP_FAST_BENCHMARK: case GUP_FAST_BENCHMARK:
nr = get_user_pages_fast(addr, nr, gup->flags & 1, nr = get_user_pages_fast(addr, nr, gup->flags,
pages + i); pages + i);
break; break;
case GUP_LONGTERM_BENCHMARK: case GUP_LONGTERM_BENCHMARK:
nr = get_user_pages(addr, nr, nr = get_user_pages(addr, nr,
(gup->flags & 1) | FOLL_LONGTERM, gup->flags | FOLL_LONGTERM,
pages + i, NULL); pages + i, NULL);
break; break;
case GUP_BENCHMARK: case GUP_BENCHMARK:
nr = get_user_pages(addr, nr, gup->flags & 1, pages + i, nr = get_user_pages(addr, nr, gup->flags, pages + i,
NULL); NULL);
break; break;
default: default:
......
...@@ -18,6 +18,9 @@ ...@@ -18,6 +18,9 @@
#define GUP_LONGTERM_BENCHMARK _IOWR('g', 2, struct gup_benchmark) #define GUP_LONGTERM_BENCHMARK _IOWR('g', 2, struct gup_benchmark)
#define GUP_BENCHMARK _IOWR('g', 3, struct gup_benchmark) #define GUP_BENCHMARK _IOWR('g', 3, struct gup_benchmark)
/* Just the flags we need, copied from mm.h: */
#define FOLL_WRITE 0x01 /* check pte is writable */
struct gup_benchmark { struct gup_benchmark {
__u64 get_delta_usec; __u64 get_delta_usec;
__u64 put_delta_usec; __u64 put_delta_usec;
...@@ -85,7 +88,8 @@ int main(int argc, char **argv) ...@@ -85,7 +88,8 @@ int main(int argc, char **argv)
} }
gup.nr_pages_per_call = nr_pages; gup.nr_pages_per_call = nr_pages;
gup.flags = write; if (write)
gup.flags |= FOLL_WRITE;
fd = open("/sys/kernel/debug/gup_benchmark", O_RDWR); fd = open("/sys/kernel/debug/gup_benchmark", O_RDWR);
if (fd == -1) if (fd == -1)
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment