Commit c118baf8 authored by Raghavendra K T's avatar Raghavendra K T Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

arch/powerpc/mm/numa.c: do not allocate bootmem memory for non existing nodes



With the setup_nr_nodes(), we have already initialized
node_possible_map.  So it is safe to use for_each_node here.

There are many places in the kernel that use hardcoded 'for' loop with
nr_node_ids, because all other architectures have numa nodes populated
serially.  That should be reason we had maintained the same for
powerpc.

But, since sparse numa node ids possible on powerpc, we unnecessarily
allocate memory for non existent numa nodes.

For e.g., on a system with 0,1,16,17 as numa nodes nr_node_ids=18 and
we allocate memory for nodes 2-14.  This patch we allocate memory for
only existing numa nodes.

The patch is boot tested on a 4 node tuleta, confirming with printks
that it works as expected.
Signed-off-by: default avatarRaghavendra K T <raghavendra.kt@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Vladimir Davydov <vdavydov@parallels.com>
Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
Cc: Michael Ellerman <mpe@ellerman.id.au>
Cc: Anton Blanchard <anton@samba.org>
Cc: Nishanth Aravamudan <nacc@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Greg Kurz <gkurz@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Grant Likely <grant.likely@linaro.org>
Cc: Nikunj A Dadhania <nikunj@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 145949a1
......@@ -80,7 +80,7 @@ static void __init setup_node_to_cpumask_map(void)
setup_nr_node_ids();
/* allocate the map */
for (node = 0; node < nr_node_ids; node++)
for_each_node(node)
alloc_bootmem_cpumask_var(&node_to_cpumask_map[node]);
/* cpumask_of_node() will now work */
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment