Commit d66ba15b authored by Reza Arbab's avatar Reza Arbab Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

memory-hotplug: fix store_mem_state() return value

If store_mem_state() is called to online memory which is already online,
it will return 1, the value it got from device_online().

This is wrong because store_mem_state() is a device_attribute .store
function.  Thus a non-negative return value represents input bytes read.

Set the return value to -EINVAL in this case.

Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1472743777-24266-1-git-send-email-arbab@linux.vnet.ibm.com

Signed-off-by: default avatarReza Arbab <arbab@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Greg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
Cc: Vlastimil Babka <vbabka@suse.cz>
Cc: Vitaly Kuznetsov <vkuznets@redhat.com>
Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
Cc: Yaowei Bai <baiyaowei@cmss.chinamobile.com>
Cc: Joonsoo Kim <iamjoonsoo.kim@lge.com>
Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
Cc: Xishi Qiu <qiuxishi@huawei.com>
Cc: David Vrabel <david.vrabel@citrix.com>
Cc: Chen Yucong <slaoub@gmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Banman <abanman@sgi.com>
Cc: Seth Jennings <sjenning@redhat.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 0247f3f4
......@@ -361,8 +361,11 @@ store_mem_state(struct device *dev,
err:
unlock_device_hotplug();
if (ret)
if (ret < 0)
return ret;
if (ret)
return -EINVAL;
return count;
}
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment