Commit e5251fd4 authored by Punit Agrawal's avatar Punit Agrawal Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm/hugetlb: introduce set_huge_swap_pte_at() helper

set_huge_pte_at(), an architecture callback to populate hugepage ptes,
does not provide the range of virtual memory that is targeted.  This
leads to ambiguity when dealing with swap entries on architectures that
support hugepages consisting of contiguous ptes.

Fix the problem by introducing an overridable helper that is called when
populating the page tables with swap entries.  The size of the targeted
region is provided to the helper to help determine the number of entries
to be updated.

Provide a default implementation that maintains the current behaviour.

[punit.agrawal@arm.com: v4]
  Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170524115409.31309-8-punit.agrawal@arm.com
[punit.agrawal@arm.com: add an empty definition for set_huge_swap_pte_at()]
  Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170525171331.31469-1-punit.agrawal@arm.com
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20170522133604.11392-6-punit.agrawal@arm.com

Signed-off-by: default avatarPunit Agrawal <punit.agrawal@arm.com>
Acked-by: default avatarSteve Capper <steve.capper@arm.com>
Cc: Mike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Catalin Marinas <catalin.marinas@arm.com>
Cc: Will Deacon <will.deacon@arm.com>
Cc: Naoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
Cc: Mark Rutland <mark.rutland@arm.com>
Cc: Hillf Danton <hillf.zj@alibaba-inc.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent 9386fac3
......@@ -516,6 +516,14 @@ static inline void hugetlb_count_sub(long l, struct mm_struct *mm)
{
atomic_long_sub(l, &mm->hugetlb_usage);
}
#ifndef set_huge_swap_pte_at
static inline void set_huge_swap_pte_at(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long addr,
pte_t *ptep, pte_t pte, unsigned long sz)
{
set_huge_pte_at(mm, addr, ptep, pte);
}
#endif
#else /* CONFIG_HUGETLB_PAGE */
struct hstate {};
#define alloc_huge_page(v, a, r) NULL
......@@ -565,6 +573,11 @@ static inline void hugetlb_report_usage(struct seq_file *f, struct mm_struct *m)
static inline void hugetlb_count_sub(long l, struct mm_struct *mm)
{
}
static inline void set_huge_swap_pte_at(struct mm_struct *mm, unsigned long addr,
pte_t *ptep, pte_t pte, unsigned long sz)
{
}
#endif /* CONFIG_HUGETLB_PAGE */
static inline spinlock_t *huge_pte_lock(struct hstate *h,
......
......@@ -3276,9 +3276,10 @@ int copy_hugetlb_page_range(struct mm_struct *dst, struct mm_struct *src,
*/
make_migration_entry_read(&swp_entry);
entry = swp_entry_to_pte(swp_entry);
set_huge_pte_at(src, addr, src_pte, entry);
set_huge_swap_pte_at(src, addr, src_pte,
entry, sz);
}
set_huge_pte_at(dst, addr, dst_pte, entry);
set_huge_swap_pte_at(dst, addr, dst_pte, entry, sz);
} else {
if (cow) {
huge_ptep_set_wrprotect(src, addr, src_pte);
......@@ -4295,7 +4296,8 @@ unsigned long hugetlb_change_protection(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
make_migration_entry_read(&entry);
newpte = swp_entry_to_pte(entry);
set_huge_pte_at(mm, address, ptep, newpte);
set_huge_swap_pte_at(mm, address, ptep,
newpte, huge_page_size(h));
pages++;
}
spin_unlock(ptl);
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment