Commit e632a938 authored by Naoya Horiguchi's avatar Naoya Horiguchi Committed by Linus Torvalds
Browse files

mm: migrate: add hugepage migration code to move_pages()



Extend move_pages() to handle vma with VM_HUGETLB set.  We will be able to
migrate hugepage with move_pages(2) after applying the enablement patch
which comes later in this series.

We avoid getting refcount on tail pages of hugepage, because unlike thp,
hugepage is not split and we need not care about races with splitting.

And migration of larger (1GB for x86_64) hugepage are not enabled.
Signed-off-by: default avatarNaoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
Acked-by: default avatarAndi Kleen <ak@linux.intel.com>
Reviewed-by: default avatarWanpeng Li <liwanp@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Hillf Danton <dhillf@gmail.com>
Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
Cc: KOSAKI Motohiro <kosaki.motohiro@jp.fujitsu.com>
Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: "Aneesh Kumar K.V" <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
parent e2d8cf40
......@@ -1481,7 +1481,8 @@ struct page *follow_page_mask(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
if (pud_none(*pud))
goto no_page_table;
if (pud_huge(*pud) && vma->vm_flags & VM_HUGETLB) {
BUG_ON(flags & FOLL_GET);
if (flags & FOLL_GET)
goto out;
page = follow_huge_pud(mm, address, pud, flags & FOLL_WRITE);
goto out;
}
......@@ -1492,8 +1493,20 @@ struct page *follow_page_mask(struct vm_area_struct *vma,
if (pmd_none(*pmd))
goto no_page_table;
if (pmd_huge(*pmd) && vma->vm_flags & VM_HUGETLB) {
BUG_ON(flags & FOLL_GET);
page = follow_huge_pmd(mm, address, pmd, flags & FOLL_WRITE);
if (flags & FOLL_GET) {
/*
* Refcount on tail pages are not well-defined and
* shouldn't be taken. The caller should handle a NULL
* return when trying to follow tail pages.
*/
if (PageHead(page))
get_page(page);
else {
page = NULL;
goto out;
}
}
goto out;
}
if ((flags & FOLL_NUMA) && pmd_numa(*pmd))
......
......@@ -1092,7 +1092,11 @@ static struct page *new_page_node(struct page *p, unsigned long private,
*result = &pm->status;
return alloc_pages_exact_node(pm->node,
if (PageHuge(p))
return alloc_huge_page_node(page_hstate(compound_head(p)),
pm->node);
else
return alloc_pages_exact_node(pm->node,
GFP_HIGHUSER_MOVABLE | GFP_THISNODE, 0);
}
......@@ -1152,6 +1156,11 @@ static int do_move_page_to_node_array(struct mm_struct *mm,
!migrate_all)
goto put_and_set;
if (PageHuge(page)) {
isolate_huge_page(page, &pagelist);
goto put_and_set;
}
err = isolate_lru_page(page);
if (!err) {
list_add_tail(&page->lru, &pagelist);
......@@ -1174,7 +1183,7 @@ static int do_move_page_to_node_array(struct mm_struct *mm,
err = migrate_pages(&pagelist, new_page_node,
(unsigned long)pm, MIGRATE_SYNC, MR_SYSCALL);
if (err)
putback_lru_pages(&pagelist);
putback_movable_pages(&pagelist);
}
up_read(&mm->mmap_sem);
......
Markdown is supported
0% or .
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment