1. 08 May, 2007 1 commit
    • Christoph Hellwig's avatar
      move die notifier handling to common code · 1eeb66a1
      Christoph Hellwig authored
      
      
      This patch moves the die notifier handling to common code.  Previous
      various architectures had exactly the same code for it.  Note that the new
      code is compiled unconditionally, this should be understood as an appel to
      the other architecture maintainer to implement support for it aswell (aka
      sprinkling a notify_die or two in the proper place)
      
      arm had a notifiy_die that did something totally different, I renamed it to
      arm_notify_die as part of the patch and made it static to the file it's
      declared and used at.  avr32 used to pass slightly less information through
      this interface and I brought it into line with the other architectures.
      
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: build fix]
      [akpm@linux-foundation.org: fix vmalloc_sync_all bustage]
      [bryan.wu@analog.com: fix vmalloc_sync_all in nommu]
      Signed-off-by: default avatarChristoph Hellwig <hch@lst.de>
      Cc: <linux-arch@vger.kernel.org>
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarBryan Wu <bryan.wu@analog.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      1eeb66a1
  2. 20 Mar, 2007 1 commit
  3. 08 Mar, 2007 1 commit
  4. 14 Feb, 2007 1 commit
    • Eric W. Biederman's avatar
      [PATCH] sysctl: remove insert_at_head from register_sysctl · 0b4d4147
      Eric W. Biederman authored
      
      
      The semantic effect of insert_at_head is that it would allow new registered
      sysctl entries to override existing sysctl entries of the same name.  Which is
      pain for caching and the proc interface never implemented.
      
      I have done an audit and discovered that none of the current users of
      register_sysctl care as (excpet for directories) they do not register
      duplicate sysctl entries.
      
      So this patch simply removes the support for overriding existing entries in
      the sys_sysctl interface since no one uses it or cares and it makes future
      enhancments harder.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarEric W. Biederman <ebiederm@xmission.com>
      Acked-by: default avatarRalf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Acked-by: default avatarMartin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Russell King <rmk@arm.linux.org.uk>
      Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
      Cc: "Luck, Tony" <tony.luck@intel.com>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Andi Kleen <ak@muc.de>
      Cc: Jens Axboe <axboe@kernel.dk>
      Cc: Corey Minyard <minyard@acm.org>
      Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
      Cc: "John W. Linville" <linville@tuxdriver.com>
      Cc: James Bottomley <James.Bottomley@steeleye.com>
      Cc: Jan Kara <jack@ucw.cz>
      Cc: Trond Myklebust <trond.myklebust@fys.uio.no>
      Cc: Mark Fasheh <mark.fasheh@oracle.com>
      Cc: David Chinner <dgc@sgi.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Patrick McHardy <kaber@trash.net>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      0b4d4147
  5. 09 Feb, 2007 1 commit
  6. 05 Feb, 2007 2 commits
  7. 12 Dec, 2006 1 commit
    • Horms's avatar
      [IA64] CONFIG_KEXEC/CONFIG_CRASH_DUMP permutations · 45a98fc6
      Horms authored
      
      
      Actually, on reflection I think that there is a good case for
      keeping the options separate. I am thinking particularly of people
      who want a very small crashdump kernel and thus don't want to compile
      in kexec.
      
      The patch below should fix things up so that all valid combinations of
      KEXEC, CRASH_DUMP and VMCORE compile cleanly - VMCORE depends on
      CRASH_DUMP which is why I said valid combinations. In a nutshell
      it just untangles unrelated code and switches around a few defines.
      
      Please note that it creats a new file, arch/ia64/kernel/crash_dump.c
      This is in keeping with the i386 implementation.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarSimon Horman <horms@verge.net.au>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarTony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
      45a98fc6
  8. 07 Dec, 2006 1 commit
    • Zou Nan hai's avatar
      [IA64] IA64 Kexec/kdump · a7956113
      Zou Nan hai authored
      
      
      Changes and updates.
      
      1. Remove fake rendz path and related code according to discuss with Khalid Aziz.
      2. fc.i offset fix in relocate_kernel.S.
      3. iospic shutdown code eoi and mask race fix from Fujitsu.
      4. Warm boot hook in machine_kexec to SN SAL code from Jack Steiner.
      5. Send slave to SAL slave loop patch from Jay Lan.
      6. Kdump on non-recoverable MCA event patch from Jay Lan
      7. Use CTL_UNNUMBERED in kdump_on_init sysctl.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarZou Nan hai <nanhai.zou@intel.com>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarTony Luck <tony.luck@intel.com>
      a7956113