1. 14 May, 2019 1 commit
    • Ira Weiny's avatar
      mm/gup: change GUP fast to use flags rather than a write 'bool' · 73b0140b
      Ira Weiny authored
      To facilitate additional options to get_user_pages_fast() change the
      singular write parameter to be gup_flags.
      
      This patch does not change any functionality.  New functionality will
      follow in subsequent patches.
      
      Some of the get_user_pages_fast() call sites were unchanged because they
      already passed FOLL_WRITE or 0 for the write parameter.
      
      NOTE: It was suggested to change the ordering of the get_user_pages_fast()
      arguments to ensure that callers were converted.  This breaks the current
      GUP call site convention of having the returned pages be the final
      parameter.  So the suggestion was rejected.
      
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190328084422.29911-4-ira.weiny@intel.com
      Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/20190317183438.2057-4-ira.weiny@intel.com
      
      Signed-off-by: default avatarIra Weiny <ira.weiny@intel.com>
      Reviewed-by: default avatarMike Marshall <hubcap@omnibond.com>
      Cc: Aneesh Kumar K.V <aneesh.kumar@linux.ibm.com>
      Cc: Benjamin Herrenschmidt <benh@kernel.crashing.org>
      Cc: Borislav Petkov <bp@alien8.de>
      Cc: Dan Williams <dan.j.williams@intel.com>
      Cc: "David S. Miller" <davem@davemloft.net>
      Cc: Heiko Carstens <heiko.carstens@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Ingo Molnar <mingo@redhat.com>
      Cc: James Hogan <jhogan@kernel.org>
      Cc: Jason Gunthorpe <jgg@ziepe.ca>
      Cc: John Hubbard <jhubbard@nvidia.com>
      Cc: "Kirill A. Shutemov" <kirill.shutemov@linux.intel.com>
      Cc: Martin Schwidefsky <schwidefsky@de.ibm.com>
      Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@kernel.org>
      Cc: Paul Mackerras <paulus@samba.org>
      Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
      Cc: Ralf Baechle <ralf@linux-mips.org>
      Cc: Rich Felker <dalias@libc.org>
      Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
      Cc: Yoshinori Sato <ysato@users.sourceforge.jp>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      73b0140b
  2. 04 Jan, 2019 1 commit
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      Remove 'type' argument from access_ok() function · 96d4f267
      Linus Torvalds authored
      Nobody has actually used the type (VERIFY_READ vs VERIFY_WRITE) argument
      of the user address range verification function since we got rid of the
      old racy i386-only code to walk page tables by hand.
      
      It existed because the original 80386 would not honor the write protect
      bit when in kernel mode, so you had to do COW by hand before doing any
      user access.  But we haven't supported that in a long time, and these
      days the 'type' argument is a purely historical artifact.
      
      A discussion about extending 'user_access_begin()' to do the range
      checking resulted this patch, because there is no way we're going to
      move the old VERIFY_xyz interface to that model.  And it's best done at
      the end of the merge window when I've done most of my merges, so let's
      just get this done once and for all.
      
      This patch was mostly done with a sed-script, with manual fix-ups for
      the cases that weren't of the trivial 'access_ok(VERIFY_xyz' form.
      
      There were a couple of notable cases:
      
       - csk...
      96d4f267
  3. 15 Oct, 2018 6 commits
  4. 25 Sep, 2018 5 commits
  5. 14 Sep, 2018 20 commits
  6. 07 Jul, 2018 1 commit
    • Randy Dunlap's avatar
      headers: separate linux/mod_devicetable.h from linux/platform_device.h · ac316725
      Randy Dunlap authored
      
      
      At over 4000 #includes, <linux/platform_device.h> is the 9th most
      #included header file in the Linux kernel.  It does not need
      <linux/mod_devicetable.h>, so drop that header and explicitly add
      <linux/mod_devicetable.h> to source files that need it.
      
         4146 #include <linux/platform_device.h>
      
      After this patch, there are 225 files that use <linux/mod_devicetable.h>,
      for a reduction of around 3900 times that <linux/mod_devicetable.h>
      does not have to be read & parsed.
      
          225 #include <linux/mod_devicetable.h>
      
      This patch was build-tested on 20 different arch-es.
      
      It also makes these drivers SubmitChecklist#1 compliant.
      Signed-off-by: default avatarRandy Dunlap <rdunlap@infradead.org>
      Reported-by: kbuild test robot <lkp@intel.com> # drivers/media/platform/vimc/
      Reported-by: kbuild test robot <lkp@intel.com> # drivers/pinctrl/pinctrl-u300.c
      Signed-off-by: default avatarGreg Kroah-Hartman <gregkh@linuxfoundation.org>
      ac316725
  7. 03 Jul, 2018 1 commit
  8. 11 Feb, 2018 1 commit
    • Linus Torvalds's avatar
      vfs: do bulk POLL* -> EPOLL* replacement · a9a08845
      Linus Torvalds authored
      
      
      This is the mindless scripted replacement of kernel use of POLL*
      variables as described by Al, done by this script:
      
          for V in IN OUT PRI ERR RDNORM RDBAND WRNORM WRBAND HUP RDHUP NVAL MSG; do
              L=`git grep -l -w POLL$V | grep -v '^t' | grep -v /um/ | grep -v '^sa' | grep -v '/poll.h$'|grep -v '^D'`
              for f in $L; do sed -i "-es/^\([^\"]*\)\(\<POLL$V\>\)/\\1E\\2/" $f; done
          done
      
      with de-mangling cleanups yet to come.
      
      NOTE! On almost all architectures, the EPOLL* constants have the same
      values as the POLL* constants do.  But they keyword here is "almost".
      For various bad reasons they aren't the same, and epoll() doesn't
      actually work quite correctly in some cases due to this on Sparc et al.
      
      The next patch from Al will sort out the final differences, and we
      should be all done.
      Scripted-by: default avatarAl Viro <viro@zeniv.linux.org.uk>
      Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
      a9a08845
  9. 28 Nov, 2017 1 commit
  10. 25 May, 2017 2 commits
  11. 26 Apr, 2017 1 commit