• Ian Kent's avatar
    autofs: revert "autofs: fix AT_NO_AUTOMOUNT not being honored" · 5d38f049
    Ian Kent authored
    Commit 42f46148 ("autofs: fix AT_NO_AUTOMOUNT not being honored")
    allowed the fstatat(2) system call to properly honor the AT_NO_AUTOMOUNT
    flag but introduced a semantic change.
    
    In order to honor AT_NO_AUTOMOUNT a semantic change was made to the
    negative dentry case for stat family system calls in follow_automount().
    
    This changed the unconditional triggering of an automount in this case
    to no longer be done and an error returned instead.
    
    This has caused more problems than I expected so reverting the change is
    needed.
    
    In a discussion with Neil Brown it was concluded that the automount(8)
    daemon can implement this change without kernel modifications.  So that
    will be done instead and the autofs module documentation updated with a
    description of the problem and what needs to be done by module users for
    this specific case.
    
    Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/151174730120.6162.3848002191530283984.stgit@pluto.themaw.net
    Fixes: 42f46148 ("autofs: fix AT_NO_AUTOMOUNT not being honored")
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarIan Kent <raven@themaw.net>
    Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.com>
    Cc: Al Viro <viro@ZenIV.linux.org.uk>
    Cc: David Howells <dhowells@redhat.com>
    Cc: Colin Walters <walters@redhat.com>
    Cc: Ondrej Holy <oholy@redhat.com>
    Cc: <stable@vger.kernel.org>	[4.11+]
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: 's avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    5d38f049