Commit 295d6d5e authored by Luca Abeni's avatar Luca Abeni Committed by Ingo Molnar

sched/deadline: Fix switching to -deadline

Fix a bug introduced in:

  72f9f3fd ("sched/deadline: Remove dl_new from struct sched_dl_entity")

After that commit, when switching to -deadline if the scheduling
deadline of a task is in the past then switched_to_dl() calls
setup_new_entity() to properly initialize the scheduling deadline
and runtime.

The problem is that the task is enqueued _before_ having its parameters
initialized by setup_new_entity(), and this can cause problems.
For example, a task with its out-of-date deadline in the past will
potentially be enqueued as the highest priority one; however, its
adjusted deadline may not be the earliest one.

This patch fixes the problem by initializing the task's parameters before
enqueuing it.
Signed-off-by: default avatarluca abeni <luca.abeni@santannapisa.it>
Signed-off-by: default avatarPeter Zijlstra (Intel) <peterz@infradead.org>
Reviewed-by: default avatarDaniel Bristot de Oliveira <bristot@redhat.com>
Cc: Juri Lelli <juri.lelli@arm.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Mathieu Poirier <mathieu.poirier@linaro.org>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Steven Rostedt <rostedt@goodmis.org>
Cc: Thomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1504778971-13573-3-git-send-email-luca.abeni@santannapisa.itSigned-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent e964d350
......@@ -1364,6 +1364,10 @@ enqueue_dl_entity(struct sched_dl_entity *dl_se,
update_dl_entity(dl_se, pi_se);
} else if (flags & ENQUEUE_REPLENISH) {
replenish_dl_entity(dl_se, pi_se);
} else if ((flags & ENQUEUE_RESTORE) &&
dl_time_before(dl_se->deadline,
rq_clock(rq_of_dl_rq(dl_rq_of_se(dl_se))))) {
setup_new_dl_entity(dl_se);
}
__enqueue_dl_entity(dl_se);
......@@ -2255,13 +2259,6 @@ static void switched_to_dl(struct rq *rq, struct task_struct *p)
return;
}
/*
* If p is boosted we already updated its params in
* rt_mutex_setprio()->enqueue_task(..., ENQUEUE_REPLENISH),
* p's deadline being now already after rq_clock(rq).
*/
if (dl_time_before(p->dl.deadline, rq_clock(rq)))
setup_new_dl_entity(&p->dl);
if (rq->curr != p) {
#ifdef CONFIG_SMP
......
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment