Commit 5c4991e2 authored by Frederic Weisbecker's avatar Frederic Weisbecker Committed by Ingo Molnar

sched/isolation: Split out new CONFIG_CPU_ISOLATION=y config from CONFIG_NO_HZ_FULL

Split the housekeeping config from CONFIG_NO_HZ_FULL. This way we finally
separate the isolation code from NOHZ.

Although a dependency to CONFIG_NO_HZ_FULL remains for now, while the
housekeeping code still deals with NOHZ internals.
Signed-off-by: default avatarFrederic Weisbecker <frederic@kernel.org>
Acked-by: default avatarThomas Gleixner <tglx@linutronix.de>
Cc: Chris Metcalf <cmetcalf@mellanox.com>
Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
Cc: Linus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
Cc: Luiz Capitulino <lcapitulino@redhat.com>
Cc: Mike Galbraith <efault@gmx.de>
Cc: Paul E. McKenney <paulmck@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
Cc: Peter Zijlstra <peterz@infradead.org>
Cc: Rik van Riel <riel@redhat.com>
Cc: Wanpeng Li <kernellwp@gmail.com>
Link: http://lkml.kernel.org/r/1509072159-31808-8-git-send-email-frederic@kernel.orgSigned-off-by: default avatarIngo Molnar <mingo@kernel.org>
parent 204c083a
......@@ -5,7 +5,7 @@
#include <linux/init.h>
#include <linux/tick.h>
#ifdef CONFIG_NO_HZ_FULL
#ifdef CONFIG_CPU_ISOLATION
DECLARE_STATIC_KEY_FALSE(housekeeping_overriden);
extern int housekeeping_any_cpu(void);
extern const struct cpumask *housekeeping_cpumask(void);
......@@ -27,11 +27,11 @@ static inline const struct cpumask *housekeeping_cpumask(void)
static inline void housekeeping_affine(struct task_struct *t) { }
static inline void housekeeping_init(void) { }
#endif /* CONFIG_NO_HZ_FULL */
#endif /* CONFIG_CPU_ISOLATION */
static inline bool housekeeping_cpu(int cpu)
{
#ifdef CONFIG_NO_HZ_FULL
#ifdef CONFIG_CPU_ISOLATION
if (static_branch_unlikely(&housekeeping_overriden))
return housekeeping_test_cpu(cpu);
#endif
......
......@@ -472,6 +472,14 @@ config TASK_IO_ACCOUNTING
endmenu # "CPU/Task time and stats accounting"
config CPU_ISOLATION
bool "CPU isolation"
depends on NO_HZ_FULL
help
Make sure that CPUs running critical tasks are not disturbed by
any source of "noise" such as unbound workqueues, timers, kthreads...
Unbound jobs get offloaded to housekeeping CPUs.
source "kernel/rcu/Kconfig"
config BUILD_BIN2C
......
......@@ -26,4 +26,4 @@ obj-$(CONFIG_CGROUP_CPUACCT) += cpuacct.o
obj-$(CONFIG_CPU_FREQ) += cpufreq.o
obj-$(CONFIG_CPU_FREQ_GOV_SCHEDUTIL) += cpufreq_schedutil.o
obj-$(CONFIG_MEMBARRIER) += membarrier.o
obj-$(CONFIG_NO_HZ_FULL) += isolation.o
obj-$(CONFIG_CPU_ISOLATION) += isolation.o
Markdown is supported
0% or
You are about to add 0 people to the discussion. Proceed with caution.
Finish editing this message first!
Please register or to comment