• Mel Gorman's avatar
    mm: account for the number of times direct reclaimers get throttled · 68243e76
    Mel Gorman authored
    Under significant pressure when writing back to network-backed storage,
    direct reclaimers may get throttled.  This is expected to be a short-lived
    event and the processes get woken up again but processes do get stalled.
    This patch counts how many times such stalling occurs.  It's up to the
    administrator whether to reduce these stalls by increasing
    min_free_kbytes.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarMel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
    Cc: David Miller <davem@davemloft.net>
    Cc: Neil Brown <neilb@suse.de>
    Cc: Peter Zijlstra <a.p.zijlstra@chello.nl>
    Cc: Mike Christie <michaelc@cs.wisc.edu>
    Cc: Eric B Munson <emunson@mgebm.net>
    Cc: Eric Dumazet <eric.dumazet@gmail.com>
    Cc: Sebastian Andrzej Siewior <sebastian@breakpoint.cc>
    Cc: Mel Gorman <mgorman@suse.de>
    Cc: Christoph Lameter <cl@linux.com>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    68243e76
vm_event_item.h 1.75 KB