• Mike Kravetz's avatar
    hugetlbfs: truncate_hugepages() takes a range of pages · b5cec28d
    Mike Kravetz authored
    
    
    Modify truncate_hugepages() to take a range of pages (start, end)
    instead of simply start.  If an end value of LLONG_MAX is passed, the
    current "truncate" functionality is maintained.  Existing callers are
    modified to pass LLONG_MAX as end of range.  By keying off end ==
    LLONG_MAX, the routine behaves differently for truncate and hole punch.
    Page removal is now synchronized with page allocation via faults by
    using the fault mutex table.  The hole punch case can experience the
    rare region_del error and must handle accordingly.
    
    Add the routine hugetlb_fix_reserve_counts to fix up reserve counts in
    the case where region_del returns an error.
    
    Since the routine handles more than just the truncate case, it is
    renamed to remove_inode_hugepages().  To be consistent, the routine
    truncate_huge_page() is renamed remove_huge_page().
    
    Downstream of remove_inode_hugepages(), the routine
    hugetlb_unreserve_pages() is also modified to take a range of pages.
    hugetlb_unreserve_pages is modified to detect an error from region_del and
    pass it back to the caller.
    Signed-off-by: default avatarMike Kravetz <mike.kravetz@oracle.com>
    Reviewed-by: default avatarNaoya Horiguchi <n-horiguchi@ah.jp.nec.com>
    Acked-by: default avatarHillf Danton <hillf.zj@alibaba-inc.com>
    Cc: Dave Hansen <dave.hansen@linux.intel.com>
    Cc: David Rientjes <rientjes@google.com>
    Cc: Hugh Dickins <hughd@google.com>
    Cc: Davidlohr Bueso <dave@stgolabs.net>
    Cc: Aneesh Kumar <aneesh.kumar@linux.vnet.ibm.com>
    Cc: Christoph Hellwig <hch@infradead.org>
    Cc: Michal Hocko <mhocko@suse.cz>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarAndrew Morton <akpm@linux-foundation.org>
    Signed-off-by: default avatarLinus Torvalds <torvalds@linux-foundation.org>
    b5cec28d
hugetlb.h 14.3 KB